He Cleanses 


Last night, on our way back home from West Virginia, Caleb decided to stop at the store for a few last minute things. I had discussed with him on the way home that I was continuing to have a hard time with my anxiety and I just didn’t know how I was going to shake it, that I wanted to seek out more help because I cannot continue to live this way. 

When we arrived home, to my surprise, he pulled out two books. He said that he had prayed and really felt the spirit moving him to grab a particular two. I immediately went to get my reading glasses, made some hot chocolate and curled up into bed to start getting some answers. The entire time that I’ve gone through this I had never looked at it in the way that the book explained. – 

Spend a moment in solemn reflection. What is the ” dross ” in your life that needs to be purged? It may be arrogance, pride, love of praise, love attention, self-will, stubbornness, an unteachable spirit, peevishness, immaturity, jealousy, anger, impatience, love of money, selfishness, or an unforgiving spirit. All such “dross” grieves the Holy Spirit who dwells within us and so we must be “refined” and “purged”. This means that we must “pass through the fire “, but there is some comfort for you here.

The book also explained how God does not put us through these things to consume us but to bring out the beauty in us. When we commit our life to Christ, the Holy Spirit lives within us, but, when we are filled with dross, He cannot truly live there , so what does He do? He cleanses .  These three facts brought me so much comfort, and I hope that they will to you as well if you are now facing your fiery trial. 

*First, he is never harmed by the fire can you tell me that you were ever harmed by gods fastening? Oh, this doesn’t mean that it doesn’t hurt, but always the hurt is for our good.

* Second, the fire sets free from the shackles of carnality that hindered. The most radiant Christians are the ones who have suffered the most.

* Third, God’s presence is very real and precious in the fire.

These three things helped me so much and reassured me that He is not consuming me but the “dross ” out of my life so that I may be purified and cleansed. What an amazing realization. I also began journaling, as the book you see, Fervent, is a battle plan for strategic prayer. I highly recommend this and will definitely blog about how it has helped me and what it has put into perspective. I’m already learning so much and I can’t wait to share it with you.

  
Quotes and text shared from -Comfort for troubled Christians by J.C. Brumfield 

Leave a Reply

